Hoppers Go Bird Hunting!

image

Today was my first day back at the ballpark in several weeks. My first real trip out to somewhere other than the hospital since Addie was born. I knew our great friends, the Shaw family, was going to be at the game today. On my way in to the stadium, I called Don Moore. He’s the co-founder of greensborosports.com.  He told me there were only around 800 people there.  Not a good Sunday crowd. Sundays are usually big days at the stadium because the families can go play catch on the field and afterwards they let the kids run the bases. Always a fun day out there.  Anyways, I get there and the line to buy my ticket was a 30 minute wait.  What happened to the 800 number? Turns out they were sold out today except for general admission lawn seats.

image

Dylan Shaw, seen above, is my little buddy.  His dad and I are great friends. Seeing him have fun at the stadium today reminded me what this is all about. I’ve said it many times before, but when you ask someone the next day about the game, the score, or the two run homer hit out that looked like it hit the Marriott hotel. Odds are to the vast majority of the fans there, today was about good, wholesome, quality time with their family. To guys like me that are avid fans of the Hoppers can tell you stats, rosters, fun facts, ect. This is why its America’s pastime. Baseball brings families and friends together like no other sport can. The excitement of home runs, Babe and Yogi retrieving the bats, the crazy between inning games, and the excitement of spending this time with your family, makes the Greensboro Grasshoppers, the best entertainment value in Greensboro.

Today was a fantastic game on the field as well. Hoppers beat the Delmarva Shorebirds 11-2 ending their current 4 game losing streak. There was a very nice two run homer by Jesus Solarzarno in the sixth that seemed to hit off the Jefferson Pilot building in downtown. The Hoppers also started a rally to make Shorebird stew scoring 7 times in the 8th inning.

So whether you are sitting at home, at the beach, or at a cookout this memorial day, remember IT’S A GREAT TIME TO BE A HOPPER!

-jordan

Bill On Baseball has a great article about today’s game. And check out the box score and game recap for the official summary.

What are you thinking?