Stick A Fork In Us, We’re Done

Howdy, Hoppers Fans! Greg here again. Jordan will be right behind me with a post of his own from tonight’s game.

I’m glad I made it out to tonight’s game Greensboro Grasshoppers, Game 4 of the best-of-5 series for the SAL Championship against the Asheville Tourists, because with the Hoppers’ 10-4 loss, the season is over. I think I made it out to four games this year, a far cry from the 50-60 games I’ve been to each of the last 2 years, but tending to a job 70 miles away and a brand new beautiful baby does put a little cramp into the baseball schedule. I was hoping for a Hoppers win, but honestly, I wasn’t expecting it. After listening to last night’s whooping on the radio, I knew our chances were slim.

And we lost. Here’s how I had the game scored:

Hoppers/Tourists Scorecard (9/14/2012)

The Hoppers fall to the Tourists, 10-4. Here’s how it played out.

But it was still a great night out at the ballpark. I started by getting out to the park early, while the Hoppers were taking BP. Between the Hoppers and the Tourists, I snagged an even dozen baseballs. Every one of them were well worn. Throughout the night, I ended up handing out a handful of them to kids around the park. As soon as the gates opened, I made a beeline to my favorite concession stand, the Taylor Made kettle corn booth to get a bag of delicious kettle corn. I had a great chat with Pat, who told me that he secured the contract for Elon football this year, so if you head out to any Elon football games, do yourself a favor and get a bage of the kettle corn. Tell Pat that Hoppers Fan Greg sent you. I hadn’t eaten supper, so I headed over to the Dog Pound and picked up a delicious Chicago Dog. Then I made my way down to my front-row seat in Section 106 to enjoy listening to announcer Jim Scott narrate the pre-game activities. Throughout the night, I also ran into several of my friends that I always see at the ballpark, and had a great time catching up with everyone.

Then the game started. It was tense right away when the Tourists got on the board with a solo home run at their second at bat. That was the only run they scored in the inning, and fortunately, the Hoppers responded with a solo home run from Austin Barnes.

Austin Barnes Scores On A Solo Home Run

Austin Barnes Scores On A Solo Home Run

I was felling good about how things might turn out, but the rest of the game did not go well for the Hoppers. I’ll let Jordan go over the highlights in his post, and you can also check out the official box score and game recap for details.

It was a great season for the Hoppers, and I’m glad to have been able to make it out to a few games, catch a few games on the radio, and read about a lot of games from the Hoppers Fan blog posts that Jordan’s been writing this season. Once again, I’d like to offer a huge thank-you to Jordan for stepping up and helping out with the blog when it looked like I was going to have to shut it down this year. Hopefully next year, I’ll be able to make it out to more games and Jordan and I can split the blogging duties a bit more equally.

Hoppers Fan Jordan Stowe Snaps Some Pictures

Hoppers Fan Jordan Stowe Snaps Some Pictures

I’m looking forward to what Greensboro baseball has in store for us next year!

Remember, you can click on any of the pictures in the post to embiggen them. Check out the photo album on Facebook (plus the album that Jordan posts) for all the pictures. Join the conversation by leaving a comment — what are you thinking?

-greg

See ya at the ballpark (next season)!
Email: hoppersfan@gmail.com
Twitter: @HoppersFan
Facebook: www.facebook.com/HoppersFan

What are you thinking?

