Hoppers Fan Is Still Alive!

Rumors of the death of the Hoppers Fan blog are greatly exaggerated. Yes, it’s true that I quit posting before the season was over, even though the Hoppers, you know, WON THE SAL CHAMPIONSHIP!

Oops, yeah. I should have written about that. So… um… well… Congratulations to the 2011 team! It was a thrilling second half of the season, and it was really special for the fans to watch the team take it all the way to the end.

So, yeah. I haven’t posted anything this year, either. Let me explain. The short version is that I’m really, really busy. The long version is that last fall, I started a new job. It’s a great job and I love the people I work with. But there’s a downside in that it’s 70 miles away from my house, and I’m commuting almost every day for it. As a result, I knew I wouldn’t be going to as many games this year as I have the past two years. I didn’t even buy a season ticket this year. So far, the Hoppers have played 9 home games, and I’ve only made it out to 1 of them (and the Hoppers lost). It’s a sad day for baseball in the Hoppers Fan house.

But it’s also a happy day in the Hoppers Fan house. My wife and I are expecting our first child this August! It’s a girl, and we’re really excited about her. With the shift into parenthood, my priorities are shifting, too. Combined with the fact that I’m not as home as much as I used to be, it means that my blogging activities are necessarily slipping down the “to-do” list. I’m not giving it up, but I won’t be able to focus on it with the intensity that I have the past few years. I know y’all understand.

All is not lost, though! There are some exciting things happening with this blog that I think will allow the blog to continue as well as allow me to focus on the things I need to be focusing on. This blog has always been for the fans, and that’s not going to change. I’m not ready to share the details yet, but keep your eye on this space for an exciting announcement!

Until then —
See ya at the ballpark! (When I’m able to make it out….)
Email: hoppersfan@gmail.com
Twitter: @HoppersFan
Facebook: www.facebook.com/HoppersFan

3 comments

  1. Pingback: Baby Blueberry Has Arrived! « Hoppers Fan
  2. Pingback: Hoppers Fan Blog 2013 Preview « Hoppers Fan
  3. Pingback: 2014 Hoppers Fan Preview « Hoppers Fan

What are you thinking?

