Last Night Postponed, Doubleheader Today

I was running late getting to the Greensboro Grasshoppers game against the Kannapolis Intimidators, in Kannapolis. It was about 25 minutes after the game was supposed to start and I was only in Salisbury with about 20 miles to go. I had left Greensboro later than I intended and ran into some horrendous traffic that brought things to a standstill. I actually called my wife and had her navigate me through some backroads off the interstate in order to get out of the stop-and-go traffic.

Almost as soon as I got back on the interstate, I found out that the game had been postponed due to rain. I had been driving on the edge of some storms going down, but no real rain to speak of. Apparently, Kannapolis received some extremely hard rain. I turned around and headed back home.

Three hours driving, zero minutes baseball. I didn’t even make it to the stadium. That’s how it goes, sometimes.

Today will be a doubleheader, two seven-inning games, starting at 5. I’m planning on leaving in plenty of time to avoid any potential traffic jams. I borrowed a friend’s telephoto lens, so I hope to get some good close-up action shots. If the Hoppers win both of these games today, they could effectively clinch a playoff spot.

I’m still rooting for a series sweep. Join the conversation by leaving a comment — what are you thinking?

See ya at the ballpark!
Email: hoppersfan@gmail.com
Twitter: @HoppersFan
Facebook: www.facebook.com/HoppersFan

2 comments

  1. catherine

    It will be a very exciting day for sure. I hope that Kyle can contribute in a positive way. I know he is very excited for the series.

    Have Fun Hoppersfan!!!

What are you thinking?

