Hanging With The Bus Driver

Yeah, I know I owe the blog a post from Wednesday’s day game. Short version: Hoppers lost. I’ll get a few pictures and my write-up posted soon. Check out Bill on Baseball: On to Lakewood in the mean time.

Enjoy this picture that Hoppers Fan photo corespondent Eli took. Left to right: me, Bill (the bus driver for Augusta), Patrick (Eli’s dad), Todd (friendly Grasshopper employee). Five year old Eli captured the moment.

Hanging With The Bus Driver

Here’s what Patrick had to say about the picture:

I know, why do you want a picture with the bus driver?  I don’t know, just thought it would be something different.  Besides, he drives a bus with “Abbott” on the side, and for a baseball team at that.  Just wanted to share this brief moment Sunday, a time none of us will ever forget, seen through the eyes of a 5 yr old….  And Todd, thanks for humoring me.  I’ve always said you guys go above and beyond for the fans.

Thanks for sending the picture my way, Patrick and Eli. I think it’s cool.

I ended up having a great chat with Bill before the game. Turns out in addition to currently driving the bus for Augusta, he used to drive the bus for Greensboro. I saw him at the ballpark every day for the series against Augusta and we watched several of the games together. He’s a great guy to watch a game with, and I’m glad to have met him. It would be nice I got to see him again in September.

Speaking of September, the Hoppers still have a chance at the playoffs, but it continues to be tough. So far, they’re 1-2 for the series at Lakewood, so the best we can hope for is a split if they win tomorrow’s game. They are going to have to work hard when they get back to Greensboro if they want to play in the postseason.

2 comments

  1. Pingback: Hoppers Fan Blog 2013 Preview « Hoppers Fan
  2. Pingback: Guest Post From Patrick Abbott: Coaches Reaching Out To The Fans And Giving Back « Hoppers Fan

What are you thinking?

