05/29/2011 – GSO Grasshoppers vs. LEX Legends (Game 1)

Wow, it’s been a while since I blogged. I’ve been busy at the job that pays me and at church. I even missed the entire last home stand last week — when phenom Bryce Harper was in town.

But I’m back now. And I’m making it out to the park. And I’m taking pictures. It’s a blast.

Last night was the first game of a week long home stand, against the Lexington Legends. It was also Military Appreciation Night (coinciding with Memorial Day weekend). Sunday games are usually mid-afternoon, but this was pushed back to the evening to accommodate the fireworks planned for after the game.

I gotta say, it was great to be back in the ballpark. To make it even better, I ran into two of my buddies, who happen to be the chaplains for the team. Jason couldn’t stay for the game, but Caroll stuck around until the ninth inning. I hadn’t seen Caroll in a while, and it was great to catch up on what’s going on with each other while we enjoyed the game.

And it was a very enjoyable game, right up until the tenth inning. *sigh*

Hoppers fell behind, but rallied for a tying run in the ninth. I love extra innings — free baseball! Sadly, when the Legends came up in the tenth, they were on fire and scored three more runs. The Hoppers didn’t respond with any runs in the bottom of the tenth and the game was over. Check out the box score for the horrid details.

Oh, well. After the game, there were fireworks!

Check out the photo album on Facebook for all the pictures.

See ya at the ballpark!
hoppersfan@gmail.com
twitter.com/HoppersFan
Hoppers Fan on Facebook

What are you thinking?

