GSO v ROM Game 1 (4/19/2011)

With the Shorebirds series behind us ending on a high note, the Hoppers moved into the Rome Braves series tonight. It was a good game, and the team looked pretty good. They went on to win, 4-3.

Almost as soon as I got in the ballpark, I went over to visit Pat at his Taylor Made Kettle Corn stand. This was the first time this season I stopped by where he wasn’t slammed, so we had a few minutes to chat for a bit. On my way over, I noticed for the fist time that his kettle corn stand is right next to the popcorn stand. That’s pretty weird, putting two similar products right next to each other. Last year, they were in different areas in the park. I think it’s confusing, since the popcorn and the kettle corn look so similar. It kinda makes me feel bad for the popcorn guy, though, because the kettle corn is so much better: you get more, it tastes better, and it costs less. At less than $5 for a huge bag of kettle corn, it’s the best deal by far in the ballpark (except for Mondays, when hot dogs are $1.) It really was great to catch up with Pat again after the offseason. I hope he continues to do well at the ballpark.

Culinary @HoppinFun treat of the night: Milwaukee Brat.  on TwitpicAfter visiting with Pat, I headed to the Dog Pound to try another one of the new hot dogs. Tonight, I had the Milwaukee Brat — a foot long dog with special Milwaukee sauce and onions all over it. Click on the picture to the right to see a bigger picture of it. It was delicious, but the Chicago Dog is still my favorite so far.

I settled in my seat, glad that the seats were in the shade — I got some sun at yesterday’s day game and my face has been warm ever since. Before long, my friend Zoot called me. We discovered we were only a section apart, so I moved over to join him and his sons. Later in the game, Bryan from the K-Zone and his girlfriend came to join us as well.

The game was fairly uneventful, despite getting off to a rough start with a homer by Rome’s 2nd batter. Rome kept a lead for most of the game, but the Hoppers tied in the 6th, pulled ahead in the 7th, and kept the lead through the end of the game.

Promotion Results

The promotions were, as always, fun. The theme for the night (only loosely executed) had to do with Reality TV. Keeping with the theme, the Sausage Race tipped its hat to “The Bachelor” between the 2nd and 3rd innings, and Country Sausage won:

http://www.twitvid.com/embed.php?guid=MBBDP&autoplay=0

Season Stats For Games I’ve Seen:
Country Sausage: 2 wins
Hot Sausage: 1 win
Hot Hot Sausage: 0 wins
Sage Sausage: 0 wins

A few innings later, in the middle of 4, Red Sumo takes the Sumo Match with an authoritative smack-down.

After the game, I headed to the tunnel to vie for a broken bat and/or an autograph. I didn’t see anyone carrying a broken bat off, but I did get Isaac Galloway to autograph the card I had for when he was on the 2009 team. Here’s a picture of it, along with the Marcell Ozuna autograph I got yesterday.

Ozuna-Galloway Autographs.jpg

Looking forward to the rest of the series, and seeing some good ball.

See ya at the ballpark!
hoppersfan@gmail.com
twitter.com/HoppersFan
Hoppers Fan on Facebook

What are you thinking?

