GSO v ROM Game 4 (5/1/2010)

Guilford The Grasshopper

Saturday, May 1 was the final game for the most recent Greensboro Grasshoppers home stand. It was against the Rome Braves, who beat the Hoppers 2-6. The Hoppers got a run in each of the first and second innings, but stayed off the board for the rest of the game. Even with the loss, I had lots of fun at this game because my wife and several of our friends joined us for the game. I love going to baseball games, but it’s even more fun to go with friends.

We got to the ballpark and I entered the Home Run Derby drawing, like I do every game. This time, my name was drawn when Jose Torres was up to bat. The way it works is that a name is drawn for every Hoppers batter in the fourth inning. If the batter makes a home run, the person whose name was drawn receives the ever-increasing jackpot. For this game, I think the jackpot was up to about $450. Sadly, Torres didn’t homer, so I didn’t win the money. I don’t think anyone’s won the money yet this year. I’ll keep trying.

Promotion Results
Sumo (between 1st and 2nd): won by Blue Sumo
Sausage Race (between 4th and 5th): won by Hot Sausage. Sage was doing pretty well, and looked to be in line for the win. However, on the third base side, Country Sausage blocked her, allowing Hot Sausage to secure the win.

I managed to get a few interesting photos. Here’s one of Chad Cregar. I like how you can see the bat in motion, and the blur of the ball after it left the bat.

Chad Cregar

Here’s one of Chase Austin, who successfully made it to safely to first base after laying down this bunt.

Chase Austin

Finally, here’s a series of Edgar Olmos pitching.

Edgar Olmos-1

Edgar Olmos-2

Edgar Olmos-3

Edgar Olmos-4

Since we were running a tiny bit late to the game and since I was visiting with friends as well as watching, I didn’t score the game this time. Check out the complete recap and box score on the Hoppers site.

All of my pictures from the game are on Facebook. This was the last game I had my buddy’s telephoto lens to use, so I’ll be back to my normal lens for the next home stand.

See ya at the ballpark!
hoppersfan@gmail.com
twitter.com/HoppersFan

What are you thinking?

