GSO v ROM Game 2 (4/29/2010)

On Thursday, April 29, the Greensboro Grasshoppers played their second game in their four game series against the Rome Braves. It was another shut-out (3-0). It was another quick game (2:15). The Hoppers got two of their runs in the third and their final run in the eighth.

The use of the scoreboard to taunt the opposing players continued. Batter Mycal Jones was treated to photos of Mike Jones. Batter L. V. Ware was treated to photos of the Mona Lisa. Perhaps his first name was Leonardo?

Mike Jones

Mona Lisa

Promotion Results
Sausage Race (between 2nd and 3rd): won by Country Sausage. Sage tried to cheat by running down the third base side, turning around and running back toward home, and acting like she had the lead all around. Even with her cheating ways, she was beat out by Country.
Sumo (in middle of 3rd): won by Blue Sumo

As enjoyable as the game was, the best part of the evening for me was discovering my new favorite ballpark food. It’s the Taylor Made Kettle Corn that they sell on the first base side, near the gate. They advertise that kettle corn whenever a Hoppers player catches an easy pop-up or fly ball — they call it a “can of corn” and put the Taylor Made logo on the scoreboard. So I’ve been hearing about the kettle corn all season, but hadn’t tried it yet. In fact, I don’t think I’ve ever had kettle corn. Over at the Taylor Made booth, they offer free samples, so I asked for a sample. After tasting it, I was hooked. I bought a small bad for this game, and ended up buying a large bag both Friday and Saturday nights. No question about it, the kettle corn is the best snack at the ballpark.

I had fun using my buddy’s telephoto lens on my camera to take pictures of the pitchers. Here’s a series of Bryan Evans.

Bryan Evans - 1

Bryan Evans - 2

Bryan Evans - 3

Bryan Evans - 4

Once again, I used iScore to score the game. Here’s how I had it (click each picture of the scoresheet to embiggen):

GSO v ROM Game 2 - 4:29:2010 (GSO)

GSO v ROM Game 2 - 4:29:2010 (ROM)

GSO v ROM Game 2 - 4:29:2010 (Pitchers)

Check out the complete recap and box score on the Hoppers site.

All of my pictures from the game are on Facebook.

See ya at the ballpark!
hoppersfan@gmail.com
twitter.com/HoppersFan

What are you thinking?

