Hoppers pitcher thwarts robbery attempt at Walmart parking lot

Thanks to my buddy Jason for forwarding me this newspaper article about Hoppers pitcher Curt Peterson stopping an attempted robbery in a Walmart parking lot Wednesday morning:

Hoppers pitcher thwarts robbery attempt at Walmart parking lot

GREENSBORO — Grasshoppers pitcher Curt Petersen stopped an attempted robbery Wednesday morning in the parking lot of the Walmart on Battleground Avenue….

“This guy came up behind her and grabbed her purse and her keys,” Petersen said. “She was yelling, ‘Help! Help! Help!’ I thought maybe it was just a joke. … I thought maybe they were messing around. But then she got knocked down, and I knew it wasn’t a joke.”

Petersen said he dropped his things, ran to Dixon’s car and grabbed Conrad before he could get in.

“I was like, ‘What are you doing?’ And he said, ‘I’m taking her car.’ And I was like, ‘No, you’re not,’ ” Petersen said. “I had a hold of him, and he threw the keys back to the lady and said, ‘All right, all right, just let me go.’ And I said, ‘I don’t think so.’ “

Read more….

That’s awesome! Curt’s from Texas, and I bet they’re used to having regular citizens stopping thugs like that all the time. I met Curt at the Season Ticket Holders Picnic on Tuesday and chatted with him for about 10 or 15 minutes. He seems like a really nice guy, and reading about how he stepped up and prevented this robbery just confirms that for me.

The article says that he’s probably scheduled to pitch on Monday. I can’t wait to see him on the mound.

Way to go, Curt! Welcome to Greensboro.

Edit to add: WFMY News 2 ran a story on this incident, with the following video:

http://c.brightcove.com/services/viewer/federated_f9/34830125001?isVid=1&publisherID=34300080001

See ya at the ballpark!
hoppersfan@gmail.com
twitter.com/HoppersFan

What are you thinking?

