Community Yard Sale and Marlins Tickets

yardsale.png

You know baseball season is getting closer when the Hoppers host their annual community yard sale and start selling tickets for individual games. Today was the day for both of these events. I got up early this morning, and my wife and I headed out to the park to check it out.

It was pretty cool. Upon arriving at the ballpark, we made a beeline for the free Biscuitville biscuits. Biscuits are a great way to start the day and free biscuits are an even better way. They also had pocket-sized schedules, so I picked up one of them. Biscuit in hand, we headed inside to check out the yard sale. They had the vendors set up in the concourse behind home plate. Vendors ranged from the Hoppers themselves (who were donating their proceeds to charity), to people selling jewelry and crafts, to people selling typical yard sale items. I checked out the Hoppers table especially, hoping to find some old promotional items that were interesting, but nothing struck my fancy.

ticketline.png

After checking out the yard sale, we headed back outside to check out the ticket line. It was pretty long (as the picture to the right shows) and full of people excited to get tickets to the Marlins game.

Sadly, I’m not going to be able to go to the Marlins game. Not-so-sadly, the reason I won’t be going is that I’ll be returning from a mission trip in Costa Rica with the youth at my church. Even though I wasn’t going to be at the Marlins game, I wanted to buy the seat next to my season ticket for Opening Day and July 4 for my wife. The line was long enough that I decided not to wait in it at that point, so we ran a few errands. After running our errands, we swung back by the ballpark and the line had diminished to the point that I was comfortable waiting. I don’t know how long I waited in line, but it wasn’t very long. I had a great time chatting with other fans in line, sharing excitement about the upcoming season.

When I got to the ticket window, I found out that they’re not selling the seat next to my season ticket yet. There are a handful of seats still unsold next to my seat and they’re holding them in case someone else decides to buy it as a season ticket. That totally makes sense, and I wasn’t too disappointed by it, especially since Kate (the ticketing director) told me that she’d give me a call closer to Opening Day when the tickets get released for general sale. Fair enough, and I’m keeping my fingers crossed that they don’t get sold as season tickets between now and then.

It was a great way to spend the morning, and I continue to look forward to Opening Day!

See ya at the ballpark!
hoppersfan@gmail.com
twitter.com/HoppersFan

What are you thinking?

